Search and verify licenses
Sample Connecticut Auction License

Connecticut Auction License

All the individuals that want to conduct legal auctions within the state have to obtain a Connecticut Auction License. The licensure process is not that hard. You have to meet the state criteria and submit your request. All trader and repairer permit applications are processed by the Department of Motor Vehicles’ Regulated Business Licensing Unit.

So, what steps do you have to complete? Let’s check together.

Which type of permit you’ll require

  • Dealer/Repairer: Within this class, new car dealers, used car dealers, and repair shops each have their own set of requirements.
  • Renter/Leaser: You’ll need a separate one if you wish to rent or lease vehicles.

Establish a permanent business address

First of all, begin by double-checking your municipality’s permit requirements and making sure your location is up to code. Following that, you can start the process of getting your state permit.

CT mandates that your place contains the following features:

  • Place where new and secondhand cars can be shown and stored
  • A repair shop that can accommodate two vehicles
  • The components department, as well as a public-facing office
  • A sign stating the customer’s rights is prominently displayed
  • Price indicator for labor and storage
  • At least one mechanic is qualified to service and repair the dealer’s automobiles

Note: If the mechanic is an employee, they must work for at least 35 hours per week at the licensed facility. Moreover, a state business license is also required in most cases.

In addition, new car sellers must have:

  • A manufacturer’s contract or franchise agreement
  • On-site wastewater retention tank with a minimum capacity of 250 gallons
  • Lemon Law is a set of rules that governs (the Auto Dispute Program) In the service area, there are signs placed
  • Posted V.I.N. etching cost signs

Compile the Documents for Connecticut Auction License

The following documents are must-have for each applicant:

  • K7  form
  • B-class (or better) Map of the Survey
  • Certificate of Trade Name (available at the town clerk’s office)
  • Rates of K89 Storage
  • Request for K6 Marker Plate
  • K8 for your inspection
  • R1325D Certificate of Financial Responsibility (listing insurance coverage for all trader plates)
  • DEEP Sheet
  • K200 VIN Form
  • Financial Statement K193/K193A
  • Sales Tax and a clear copy of your driver’s privilege (obtained from the Connecticut Revenue Service)

If you’re forming a limited liability company, you’ll additionally need:

  • Existence Certificate
  • Agent for Service K198
  • Working Arrangements (only required if there is more than one member of your LLC)
  • Organizational Articles

If you’re a business, you’ll also need:

  • Existence Certificate
  • Agent for Service K198

You’ll also require the following items if you’re starting a new vehicle dealership:

  • Certificate of Franchise
  • Standard Provisions Agreement

Get Your Automobile Dealer Bond

An auto trader liability has a low cost as a percentage of the entire amount.

To get a free bond quote for your permit, fill out our online form. It only takes 5 minutes, and you can lock in your rate for the next 90 days.

You’ll submit an auto trader liability as well to receive a privilege and operate legally. Actually, the necessary form is a K158 Surety Bond.

Fill out a request for a license

Generally, you may contact 860-263-5056 to schedule an appointment to submit the completed application to the DMV. However, you can also just mail your application packet.

All of these payments are payable once you have filed your application and are valid for two years. Here is the fees list:

  • A basic request fee of $140
  • $700 for a new one
  • $560 for a used one
  • $340 for a repairer’s license
  • The cost of registering a plate is $140
  • The fee for safety (per plate) is $5
  • Full commercial rate applies to special trader registration plates

Arrange for an inspection and pass it

Once you granted the application and paid all needed payments, the DMV will schedule an inspection at your proposed location. In fact, it is to ensure that you’ve met all of the aforementioned standards.

Generally, the inspection is good for two years.

Mariana T

Mariana is a journalist with four years of experience in the military-political field. But recently she decided to try herself in other fields as well, so she switched it to content writing. Now she committed to producing exceptional and creative types of content, including articles, internet content, advertisements, and publications.