Search and verify licenses

Connecticut Cannabis and Marijuana License

Connecticut joined the 18 states. They all legalized recreational cannabis. New Mexico and Virginia joined the group before Connecticut. Thus, now there are 19 states where cannabis is fully legal. CT was the latest state.

CT passed the recreational marijuana law in June 2021. Recreational cannabis has been legal since July 2021.

This law will be the green light for some cannabis-related convictions. It will be possible for cases that happened from January 1, 2000, to October 1, 2015. Some of these cases will be deleted. There will be a need for a petition for other cases. Other cases include all the cases out of the period.

Perhaps, CT could legalize recreational cannabis earlier. However, in 2020 Covid-19 happened. Thus, the discussions were delayed.

Medical cannabis has been legal earlier. CT legalized medical marijuana in June 2012. The Senate passed the law with 21 votes. Only 13 voters were against the law.

Recreational Marijuana in Connecticut

Recreational cannabis use is legal from July 2021. Adults 21 years or older can use recreational marijuana. But they can’t exit the acceptable amount.

CT defined the maximum amount of cannabis. The maximum amount of cannabis is 42.5grams according to the law. But the person can keep up to 141.7 grams of marijuana. You can keep it at home. But it should be in a locked container. Keeping cannabis in the vehicle is also possible. In this case, cannabis should be in the glove box.

Recreational marijuana retail sales will begin at the end of 2022. All growers must have a license. Retailers will also need a license. The license is for selling cannabis products. Individuals can have no licenses. But they can only give others marijuana as a present.

Moreover, people will be permitted to grow their own marijuana plants. It applies only to adults at 21 or older. The law permits to grow 6 plants at home. 3 plants out of 6 should be immature. Only 3 plants can be mature. But it will only be possible after July 1, 2023.

Penalties for Recreational Cannabis Misuse

There are many challenges as the law is new. That’s why there is a need to add some new penalties.

New strong requirements will ensure safety. Safety that the marijuana will not be misused. Also, there will not be law violations.

The strong penalties followed cannabis legalization. Let’s look through 5 of them.

  1. Penalty for selling marijuana to underage. It will be a Class A crime. Moreover, minors can’t stroll around the cannabis store. Thus, the one letting the minor do so get a fine. The fine is $1,000.
  2. The penalty will apply also to underage. It is a Class D crime to lie about age. Using fake identification cards is also a crime. Hence, delivery services should use online age verification. The ID should also be online.
  3. There will be stronger advertising requirements. All cannabis ads will be banned. The ads can appear on any public place. For example, on billboards or on the internet. Adds on TV and radio will also be illegal. But the ads can appear in some places. Only if the advertiser ensures that 90% of the audience is 21 or older.
  4. Keeping product safety is a must. All cannabis products should be tested. The tastes should do licensed laboratories. There are also special requirements for packaging. They also apply to labels.
  5. Ensuring safe driving is also a must. It is one of the key points. The police will implement new investigation ways. In its turn, they will help to find drivers violating the law. The process will be quicker.

The use of marijuana should be private. A person can’t use marijuana in public places. For instance, using it in the workplace is illegal. In addition, you can’t use marijuana in state properties. State properties may be parks, beaches, and so on.

Medical Marijuana in Connecticut

Marijuana medical use is legal in CT. It has been legal since 2012. Currently, 54,000 CT residents have access to medical cannabis. Each patient can use up to 2,5 ounces of marijuana. This is the supply for a month.

The patient can’t use cannabis in public places. Also, using it in the presence of minors is illegal. Patients can’t use marijuana if it harms someone’s health.

You can buy medical marijuana. But only from licensed dispensaries. Also, each patient can grow cannabis plants at home. But the number of plants is restricted. Each patient can grow a maximum of 6 plants. However, the 3 of them must be immature.

Health insurances are not compensating marijuana costs. Medical assistance is also not responsible for it.

The other state’s medical cannabis card is not valid in Connecticut. Thus, Patients can’t get cannabis in Connecticut. Additionally, the law will punish them for using medical cannabis.

Getting Medical Marijuana License in Connecticut

The Department of Consumer Protection is responsible for licenses. Particularly, the drug control division is in charge of licenses.

There are some requirements for getting a medical marijuana card.

  1. The patient should be, at least, 18 years old.
  2. It is a must to be a CT resident.
  3. The patent shouldn’t be an inmate. This applies to the Department of Corrections.
  4. The patient should have one of the qualifying conditions.

Only CT-certified doctors can examine patients. They can prove patient’s eligibility for cannabis.  Of course, if the patient has a qualifying condition.

Qualifying conditions vary. Particularly, they are based on age. There are two categories of patients. The first one is patients under 18. The second one is adults.

There are always updates on the list. Continuously, the new qualifying conditions are added to the list.

There are about 40 qualifying diseases. The conditions are only for the adults.

There are fewer conditions for patients under 18. Cannabis medical card is available for 11 conditions.

CT have a special section of diseases.

Board of physicians can request to add a condition. Commissioner of Consumer Protection can also ask for adding a new condition.

Regulation Review Committee approves the requested conditions.

Medical Marijuana Card for a Patient

The patient can get a medical marijuana card. Currently, only online application is available.

First of all, you must have a doctor’s certificate. Without the certificate, you can’t apply. Thus, you need your doctor’s consultancy. Consultancy takes from 10 to 15 minutes.

If you have a qualifying disease you get a certificate. The certificate is for ensuring you are eligible for cannabis.

You may need to provide some details. For example, your phone number and email. They both should be valid. Because you will receive new via these channels.

Afterward, you can apply online. You should create an account in DAS Business Network. There is a need to provide some documents as well.

  1. You must provide ID. It should be a legal document. For example, Connecticut driver’s license.
  2. There is a need to provide your CT residency. It is to provide that your home is in CT. There should be your name on the document. It should also show your current address in CT.  Besides, the document can’t be typed. The computer-generated document is mandatory. Also, the document should be current.

The application fee is $100. And it is non-refundable.

The license renewal is annual. You can start the renewal process 30 days before expiration. You will also need to see your doctor. A doctor’s certificate is necessary to renew the card.

Medical Marijuana Card for a Caregiver

Sometimes, the patient needs a caregiver. However, it is not based on individual decisions. Only a certified doctor can recommend a caregiver. The caregiver will also need a certificate.

You should meet the following criteria. They are a must to qualify as a caregiver.

  1. You are, at least, 18 years old.
  2. The patient’s doctor can’t be a caregiver.
  3. You are responsible only for one patient.
  4. You are the patient’s parent. Guardian or legal custodians can also be caregivers.

The caregiver’s card fee is $25. It is also non-refundable.

You should renew your card annually. But if patients decide to continue cooperation. Otherwise, you can’t apply for renewal.

Medical Marijuana Grower License in Connecticut

Connecticut has licenses only for medical marijuana growers. There should be a secure facility to grow cannabis. Also, it should be an indoor facility. The person operating the facility should have a license.

The facility should meet some requirements. For instance, the facility should be 1,000 meters away from some places. The places include schools and hospitals. They can also include charitable institutions.

All the fees for a grower’s license are non-refundable.

The application fee is $25,000.

The license fee is $75,000.

The renewal fee is $75,000.

The license renewal takes place annually. The applicant should apply a maximum of 45 before the expiration.

Note: Currently, CT doesn’t accept grower license applications.

Medical Dispensary License in Connecticut

Connecticut gives licenses only to medical dispensaries. The dispensary can sell marijuana. But it can sell only to a patient or a caregiver.

Currently, there are 18 dispensaries operating in Connecticut. They are all medical. Meanwhile, medical dispensaries can apply for providing adults with cannabis recreational use. The applications will be open from September 2021. But they can operate only from 2023.

The fees for the grower license are also non-refundable.

The application fee is $1,000.

The license fee is $5,000.

The annual renewal fee is $5,000

Note: Currently, CT doesn’t issue dispensary licenses.

Manush K

Manush considers writing as a form of art. Mixing facts with good grammar and the right punctuation is not enough for having unique content. She is sure, that you can't be a good writer if you are not able to leave the traces of your individuality in your work. She is a freelance content writer, translator, and voice talent in Upwork. She also works as a freelance writer on wizardwriters.com and has written many academic essays and literature reviews. Her educational background in social studies and linguistics give her the chance to find the right approach for each written material.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State