In the United States, you are required to have a valid driver’s license, if you want to drive a car. Accordingly, it is illegal to drive without holding an authentic license.
The state of Connecticut is no exception and it is unlawful to operate any motor vehicle without demonstrating proper evidence of licensing. To clarify, one must go through the state licensing process and obtain a Connecticut driver’s license to be able to drive legally.
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles takes responsibility for the licensing process by establishing laws and rules concerning driving in the state. The Department, in short, ensures safe driving practices that apply to all persons who drive a vehicle in the state of Connecticut.
The licensing process includes getting proper driving education, as well as taking the required tests. To put it differently, you will need to take a written and driving skills test to demonstrate safe driving skills. You will also need to pass a vision test and have your fingerprints taken.
Equally important is submitting the right documentation, which will support the licensing process. In addition to this, the guide is to assist you to gather the necessary paperwork, as well as complete the steps mentioned above.
Persons, who are between 16 and 18 years old, can make their first step towards getting a driver’s license and apply for a learner’s permit. The latter gives one the opportunity to drive legally, supervised by a licensed driver. The license is valid for only two years and you must get an adult license afterwards.
You can apply for a teen driver’s license if you are 16-18 years of age and hold a learner’s permit. This license gives you permission to practice unsupervised driving, with some restrictions.
Note that you cannot carry passengers for the first six months of driving.
If you have your learner’s permit and have completed the driver education training requirements, then you can apply for the Connecticut driver’s license.
In the state of Connecticut, you must renew your driver’s license when it is due to expire. To clarify, you can start the renewal process six months before the expiration date to keep it active. Below you may find different ways of renewing the driver’s license.
To renew the driver’s license in person, you should visit a DMV office and bring both the current license and the application form.
If you want to renew the license online, then you will need to provide your first and last name, date of birth, street address, driver’s license number, social security number and a credit/debit card.
Note that you will not be able to renew online, if you are not a US citizen or if you have a commercial driver’s license. You will also not be eligible to renew it, if you have an S, V, A, or F endorsement or an expired license (for two or more years). For the latter case, you will need to complete driver training and tests again, as well as pay additional late fee of $25.
You can renew the license by mail, if you:
You should send the necessary documents, application form and payment to the following mailing address:
Department of Motor Vehicles
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06109
Central Issuance Operations Unit
The state of Connecticut issues driver’s licenses in different classifications, according to the type of vehicle you want to drive.
This license, in short, gives permission to drive any motor vehicle, other than a commercial vehicle or motorcycle.
To clarify, it allows operating combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 lbs.
To clarify, it allows operating a single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 lbs.
This license, in short, allows transporting 16 passengers and hazardous materials.
This one, in short, is for motorcycles.
To clarify, it is used for student transportation vehicles, including activity vehicle, taxi, service bus, motor coach.
To clarify, allows driving activity vehicles, taxi, livery, service bus and motor coach.
This, in short, gives permission to drive taxi, livery, service bus, motor coach.
To clarify, this is needed for fire apparatus.
If you want to contact the Department within Hartford area, then you should call at 860-263-5700.
Those, who want to contact the Department from Connecticut other areas/parts, can call at 800-842-8222.
If you are out of state, then you can call at 860-263-5700.